Large turnout of voters marks APC primary in Badagry

Our Reporter

All Progressives Congress (APC) members on Saturday besieged the 10 voting centres in Badagry, waiting to vote in the primary election to select one out of the four aspirants contesting the seat of the council.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the four aspirants are the incumbent chairman, Mr Olusegun Onilude, Mr Emmanuel Kappo, Commissioner, Lagos State Audit Service Commission, Mrs Elizabeth Kappo, former Education Secretary, Badagry Local Government Education Authority, and Mr Mautin Ajulo.

A NAN correspondent who monitored activities in Badagry reports that voters besieged different designated centres as early as 8 a.m. waiting for officials that would conduct the primary.

The primary election centres visited by the NAN correspondent includes: Gbenapon Primary School where Babatunde Hunpe, a member, House of Representatives, will cast his vote, Anserudeen Primary School, where Dr Sunny Ajose, the Lagos State Deputy Chairman of APC, is expected to vote.

Others are, LA Primary School, Idale, Badagry, where Mr Emmanuel Kappo, one of the contenders, will vote and Methodist Primary School, Topo Road, where the incumbent chairman, Mr Olusegun Onilude, and Mr Ibrahim Layode, the house of Assemblymember, Badagry 1, will vote.

Mr Ganiyu Avoseh, a chieftain of APC in Badagry, condemned the lateness of the officials, saying that some of the voters had gone back home after waiting endlessly to cast their vote.

Commenting on the lateness, Representative Hunpe said the election officials were attacked by hoodlums on their way to Badagry.

Meanwhile, accreditation and voting exercise is yet to start in most voting centres in Badagry as at 12noon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.